The John Craddock Award for Excellence ......

Welland Junior Football Club first met on Saturday, October 21st 1989 primarily as an extracurricular activity encouraged by Welland Primary School. Within a few short months membership had grown with youngsters from further afield seeking to join and Welland Junior F.C. was born!

All the coaches were parents with the majority having played the game and now ready to stay involved with their children.

One of these founder members was John Craddock, himself an active sportsman who took a keen interest in the Club and how we might go forward on a longer term basis. Sadly John’s vision never came to be when, during a training session on Saturday 7th September 1991, he suffered a fatal heart attack.

The Craddock family have always stayed involved with the Club and John’s wife Shirley was the Club Treasurer, his daughter Emily a regular supporter at Welland and his son Simon going all the way through the Club playing Mercian League football until forming Welland Athletic. Today Simon is the manager of Upton Town F.C. where we share facilities working together at The Hill Centre, Upton upon Severn.

John was especially keen to encourage players to develop their skills and take their sport seriously. Each year we remember John with Simon presenting, on ‘World Cup Day’, the much coveted ‘John Craddock Award for Excellence’. This award is presented to a senior team member who demonstrates dedication and commitment to the sport and his team members, works hard at training, is reliable and an above average footballer.

The first winner was Will Surman back in 1992 and the John Craddock Award for Excellence can be seen on display in the Spitalfield Pavilion trophy cabinet.

There is also a bench on Welland Recreation Field, close to the Post Office, in memory of John.

Roll of Hounor
Date Recipient
2017/2018 Macca Davies
2016/2017 Sam Whitton
2015/2016 Oliver Smith
2014/2015 Henry Dyde
2013/2014 Jim Owen
2012/2013 Tim Lewis
2011/2012 Nathan Hughes
2010/2011 Ella Abbott
2009/2010 Tom Ward
2008/2009 Tom Pugh
2007/2008 Tom Pugh
2006/2007 Oliver Smith
2005/2006 Oliver Smith
2004/2005 Russ Alderton
2003/2004 Steve Forrester
2002/2003 Julius Baghdadi
2001/2002 Tom Holland
2000/2001 Mikey Oats
1999/2000 Greg Downes
1998/1999 David Salmon
1997/1998 Bill Clinton
1996/1997 Lee Manion
1995/1996 Stuart Craven
1994/1995 Neil Bond
1993/1994 Jon Lessimore
1992/1993 Will Surman
Welland Junior F.C. 1990
(Picture by Club President Gordon Algeo - Will Surman circled)

First Welland Junior Football Club coaches back row from left to right are:
Paul Holbrow, Pete Manion, Dave Waite, Bill Guy, Ian Washington, Lee Dyment, Steve Birch and John Craddock

The First John Craddock Award WJFC
1992 - John Craddock Award
Will Surman
Presented by Shirley Craddock

2013 - John Craddock Award
U18s (and Welland F.C player) Tim Lewis
Presented by Simon Craddock


Welland Recreation Field
The John Craddock Bench